New York: Just How Do You Drink the Shochu Cocktail at Bar Goto?

The problem is that it comes in a cardboard box!

Image result for Shochu Cocktail at Bar Goto

There is a way! And finding that out, along with a million other things that are waiting for you to try out in New York is one of the  pleasures of living these days.

Living here in Tartu, I would not know much about this stuff — especially not the people who make all of that happen, except that there are folks who regularly write about their food and drink experiences in the big apple. My hat is off to them.

And my hat is off to Amanda Shapiro for her commentary on the BA list of 100 great New York spots. Check it out! If you need a glimpse, here is a quickie. Enjoy!

Amanda is reminiscing about her experiences with places on the list.

I remembered myself as a twentysomething at Lovers Rock (#73), arguably Bed Stuy’s loudest bar, downing rum punches and dancing with strangers. I remembered biking all the way down to Tanoreen (#52), the temple to Middle Eastern food in Bay Ridge, on my birthday with someone I loved. A bad first date at Chilo’s (#80) but at least the huitlacoche tacos were amazing. I’ve trekked through a winter storm for the pancakes at Tom’s (#7). I’ve corralled groups of friends to wait for a table at Win Son (#51), where the Lazy Susans spin with platters of new-Taiwanese specialties. (Like Emily Schultz, I dream about their fried eggplant on the regular.) I’m never more happily tipsy than when I’m at tiny Bushwick pizza joint Ops (#56), where I couldn’t tell you what natural wine I’m drinking but I’m always thrilled to be drinking it.

Leave a comment