Are You an Operator or a Strategist?

You might be wondering what is the difference? Fred Wilson writes

… strategy (is) the opposite of execution. Strategy is about setting the stage for execution. Many of the best strategic minds I know aren’t operators. They are consultants, analysts, investors, pundits. I don’t know exactly why brilliant strategists often make terrible operators but I see it all the time.

So do you set the stage or make things happen?

I am more of a strategist than an operator. I am just more comfortable in that role. Perhaps that is because it is a role that I took for much of my career. And when I took the “operator’s role”, I was very eager to delegate.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

