Alert! A Serious Movie! Arrival

When is the last time that you saw a movie that made you think?  I don’t mean thinking about how good the acting or special effects were. I mean thinking about life. I mean questions like: how you live and perhaps how you should live, and how you could live better?

To be honest, I can’t remember. Films to me seemed to be mostly about escaping reality for a few hours. Going into a  dark place where you can release some emotions and get out of yourself. Sort of like unzipping the body bag for a while. But when I left the theater, the body bag got zipped back on, just the way it was before.  After all, it was “only a move.”

For that reason, I stopped taking movies seriously a long time ago. Indeed, I stopped going to movies pretty much altogether. And I stopped expecting that any new film would or could offer me very much other t, this morning, han escape.

Then I read the Vox review of the new film Arrival.

Interesting. A film about the philosophy of language set in the context of aliens arriving on earth? I love the premise

(It) hinges on the idea, shared by many linguists and philosophers of language, that we do not all experience the same reality. The pieces of it are the same — we live on the same planet, breathe the same air — but our perceptions of those pieces shift and change based on the words and grammar we use to describe them to ourselves and each other.

This is an idea that often challenges me in my real world life. I feel it more so after the last presidential election, where the candidate who most abused the English language won.  Where people voted for a guy having no idea what he would do after he was elected.

So I will definitely check out Arrival and report back here.

Stay tuned! Errr … and perhaps you should go too!

Leave a Reply

